Administrative Directory – Curriculum/Instruction Council 2023-2024

The Pennsylvania Music Educators Association Curriculum and Instruction Council shall:

  • research, discuss, and recommend best practices of curriculum and instruction to PMEA members
  • collaborate with the PMEA Professional Development and Teacher, Training, Recruitment, and Retention Councils
  • promote the use of the 2014 National Core Arts Standards as well as the PA Academic Standards for the Arts and Humanities

Curriculum/Instruction Council Chair

Krista Carney – Shamokin Area School District

District Representatives

District 1

Aaron Booz – Bethel Park School District

District 2

Kris Barnes – Conneaut School District

District 3

Jodi Hoover – Valley Grove School District

District 4


District 5

Dan Danch – Greenville School District

District 6

Scott Sheehan – Hollidaysburg Area School District

District 7

Jay Althouse – Southern York County School District

District 8

Krista Carney – Shamokin Area School District

District 9

Loriann Kerber – Wallenpaupack Area School District

District 10

Amy PutlockBethlehem Area School District

District 11

Mark Thomas – Upper Perkiomen School District

District 12



Content Representatives


Jason Worzbyt – Indiana University of PA


Erik Clayton – State College Area School District

General Music

Jennifer DeRemer – Bald Eagle Area School District


Kevin McManus – Westminster College

Music Technology

Susan Basalik – Methacton School District


Matthew Hoy – Cheltenham School District


Special Focus Area Coordinators

Early Childhood

Erin Toscani – Rosemont School of the Holy Child

Higher Education/SMTE

Kathleen Melago – Slippery Rock University

Music in a Cultural Context


Research Coordinator

Alison Reynolds – Temple University

Teaching Students With Special Needs

Angela Guerriero – West Chester University