Administrative Directory – Advocacy Council 2023-2024

The PMEA Advocacy Council shall advocate for music education and train members to be advocates. The council chair shall be elected by and from the council for a two-year term. The remainder of the council shall be composed of 12 district advocacy representatives, 4 industry representatives, and other such members as determined by the PMEA President with the approval of the Board of Directors. There may also be a nonvoting ex-officio representative from the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

Advocacy Council Chair

Emily Brumbaugh, Loyalsock Township School District

Music In Our Schools Month (MIOSM) Chair

Chuck Neidhardt – Retired

Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) Chair

David Dietz – Pennsylvania Department of Education Consultant


District Advocacy Representatives

District 1

Galen McKinney, Brentwood Borough School District

District 2

Jillian Melchitzky, Northwestern School District

District 3

Tina Bennett, Retired

District 4


District 5

Lee Caldwell, Ellwood City Area School District

District 6

Catherine Kasun, Conemaugh Township Area School District

District 7

Russell McCutcheon, Gettysburg College

District 8

Tom Hiravi, Danville Area School District

Emily Brumbaugh, Loyalsock Township School District

District 9

Jennifer Gerhard, Hazleton Area School District

District 10

Rob Arnold, Catasuqua Area School District

District 11

Debbie Lynn Wolf, Cairn University

District 12

George Weaver, Chichester School District


Industry Representatives

Cindy McAllister, C.F. Martin & Co., Inc.

Joel Menchey, Menchey Music Service

Peter Sides, Robert M. Sides Family Music Centers

Beth Schiemer, Brighton Music Center